Shorts

I am well into adulthood. I have a wife and son. I have an advanced degree from a storied institution. I have a steady job at which I wear a suit and ride an elevator every day.

And yet, there is a part of me that is still a 12 year-old.

As you may know, yesterday was a big day in the stock market. Within this turmoil, the SEC made a ruling about naked shorts. I was informed of this new guideline by my very fashionable, Goldman Sachs-employed neighbor.

And I giggled. I tried to stifle it, but it couldn’t be helped. Naked shorts is such a funny phrase.

No matter who we hope to be, we are still human (with all our foibles). I guess that’s what makes life so fun.

UPDATE 9/19/2008: Wow, today has been something. I guess you can tell who was wearing naked shorts when the tide goes out.

Leave a Reply

