Snowy Day

I woke up to snow this morning. Though I had seen it on the foothills and mountains surrounding us and had heard it was coming, it was still a pleasant surprise (the first snow of the winter always is for me). As I was walking, I realized that I would have to not just rely on my “winter” suit coat (my suit I don’t mind so much if it gets wet), but I would also need to include my winter coat and its associated gear.

I missed my pedestrian crossing light on my way to work, so I took a second to snap a picture of Utah’s Republican Party headquarters, as a memento to the events of last night. (Some friends in our building where planning on eating Barackoli, Obomlets, Johnny Cake, and McCain’ Cheese—we had waffles)

gop

Last night held its own highs and lows for this group. Their candidate didn’t win the presidency, but their governor did get convincingly reelected. They lost more control in the Congress (though it could have been worse—it doesn’t look like it will be a 60+ Senate for the Democrats) and they lost their current House Speaker, but they managed to keep their control over the majority of state offices.

Outside of the mudslinging and name calling, it is great to this electoral process in action. And, as we all saw on a national level, the quickness in which opponents and replaced leaders move in to ask for unity and offer congratulations is astonishing. In their quickness to move together, I was reminded of the old Ralph and Sam cartoons:

But what was really transcendent to me on this day was last night, we made history. Barack Obama was elected president. This simply wouldn’t have happened a few decades ago. Of all people, George Wallace’s daughter gave us insight into what this “full circle” event means to her family (and to us). President-elect Obama himself summarized his journey with the story of Ann Nixon Cooper:

And this year, in this election, she touched her finger to a screen, and cast her vote, because after 106 years in America, through the best of times and the darkest of hours, she knows how America can change.

And, as one that has perhaps a more acute sensitivity to international opinion, I am pleased with how the world has received this information. A London resident left us with a simple congratulations:

Well done America, you’ve restored my faith in you.

Whether or not you voted for or agree politically with him, his election is a truly remarkable event—one that I am glad to be a part. The last video is some thoughts about this election and its outcome from Colin Powell. (Taken from CNN)

Update: from Patrick Moberg

4 thoughts on “Snowy Day

  1. Pingback: Democrats On Best Political Blogs » Blog Archive » Snowy Day

  2. Pingback: Snowy Day

  3. Pingback: Snowy Day at Republicans On Best Political Blogs

  4. Pingback: Snowy Day « bethinkr

Leave a Reply

